DT – 4/29 – Colossians 2:4-5, 8-15

What hollow and deceptive philosophies are out there that depend on “human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than of Christ” that challenge the sufficiency of Christ in a believer’s life?  Christ is sufficient but often people don’t feel this way because they feel that they need something more.  In other words they think that they would be happy if they had Christ plus something else.  The first thing that comes to my mind is consumerism.   Some people think that they need to have stuff in order to be happy.  The believe in the advertising and fall for the pitches they make in the product’s ability, not just to do what they’re supposed to, but also to deliver some form of happiness.  Another thing that comes to mind is the need for success.  Some people tie their self worth or value to how successful they instead of who they are.  Through Christ, they have a relationship with someone who loves the unconditionally.  But often this isn’t enough.  They need to be better than others and often try to achieve some form of success to believe this.  Another thing is calling.  Some people, I think, put too much emphasis on calling.   They want to know what God is calling them to, and until they find out they won’t be happy.  What’s worse is that they won’t serve God wholeheartedly today because they’re trying to find out what God wants them to do tomorrow.  I do believe God calls certain people to certain roles.  But for some people, calling is a means to happiness and so, oddly, Christ isn’t sufficient unless they finally find what they are called to do.  I think this is based on a belief that we were put on this earth for a purpose.  You hear statements like this in the movies, and it’s kind of misleading.  Biblically, we were put on this earth to have a love relationship with God and to love others in our community.  And because of the fall we were called as ministers to reach out to the world.  And so every Christian, once they become Christian, already found what they’re supposed to do.  But sometimes, some believers think that some vocational calling will make them happy.

What do I need in my life to guard myself against hollow and deceptive philosophies out there? I need to read the word of God, daily and frequently.  Not only do I need to word of God, but I need to reflect on its merits and how its teachings are more value and more sensible than the hollow and deceptive philosophies.  I need to pay attention to the messages that I receive for often they expose these hollow and deceptive philosophies as the fruitless deeds of darkness.  And then I must live it out.  This is important because by living it out my belief goes public and it becomes faith.  By applying God’s word, my immunity system against defensive philosophies becomes more formidable. 

Tags:

~ by williamkang on April 29, 2009.

Leave a comment