DT – 5/7 – Colossians 3:13-17 – Peace of God Ruling over my Heart

What do I think needs to happen in order for the peace of God to rule in my heart?  In order for the peace of God to rule in my heart, I need to accept the reality that Christ has given to me.  This means that I need to accept myself and my limitations.  This means that I need to accept my cross.  What is my cross?  It’s the ministry God has given to me; it’s the people that God has placed in my life.  The peace of God can rule in my heart if I accept that this is my life.  I am not at rest when I dream about something else. I am not at rest when I am unable to accept the terms of my life.  I am not at rest when I complain because complaints often turn into bitterness and then resentment. 

What are some things I can do to allow the word of Christ to dwell richly in my heart?  For me it’s simple, I need to spend more time reading God’s word and reflecting on it.  I need to prioritize it, and make it a regular part of my morning, afternoon and evening.

In this short passage, Apostle Paul repeats the need to be thankful twice.  What place does gratitude have in my relationship with God?  Gratitude has a large place in my relationship with God.  The Bible is clear that God leads my life.  It is clear that God sustains all things.  Though evil and suffering are not caused by God and though they were not a part of his plan, he allows them to happen and uses them as a context or environment through which I can be transformed.  The life that I have now is a life that he has ordained, and so to have gratitude is a powerful way to say, “thy will be done” and  “I love you, Lord and I will follow you.” 

Tags:

~ by williamkang on May 7, 2009.

Leave a comment